Purpose of committee

The Cabinet meeting (known as the Executive in the Constitution) is responsible for the discharge of those executive functions  allocated to it by the Leader of Council.  It will also take the lead on recommending to Full Council matters as identified in the Policy Framework and the Budgetary Framework of the Constitution.


The Cabinet will consist of the Leader together with at least 2, but no more than 9 members to be appointed by the Leader of the Council.


Portfolio Holders from September 2020 and their Responsibilities


Cabinet Lead Members are not members of the Cabinet but are appointed to work along side Portfolio Holder(s). They provide additional leadership capacity and support to Cabinet The following Councillors have been appointed as Cabinet Lead Members for 2020/2021:-


Councillor C Brooks

Councillor Piers Brown

Councillor Simon Gibson

Councillor Nocturin Lacey-Clarke

Councillor Byron Quayle

Councillor Jane Somper


For information about public speaking, filming and how to get involved in committees, please see this page.


Virtual committee meetings:


Weblink to view Dorset Council’s live committee meetings online


Contact information

Support officer: Kate Critchel. 01305 252234 - Email:

Postal address:
County Hall

Phone: 01305 252234