Political Composition of the Council

When Councillors are elected to office, many are representing a political party. Upon election, two or more councillors may form political groups, which may be the same or different to their political party. The calculated allocation of seats on committees is based on the representation of these political groups.

The current political composition of the council is:

Conservative 43 Councillors                                            
Liberal Democrats 27 Councillors                            
Green 5 Councillors      
Alliance for Local Living (Independents Group) 4 Councillors     
Unaligned 2 Councillors   
Labour 1 Councillor  

There are currently four political groups formed within Dorset Council - The Conservative Group, The Liberal Democrat Group, The Green Party Group and The Alliance for Local Living (Independents) Group, and each has appoint a Leader and Deputy Leader.

Conservative Group Leader - Councillor Spencer Flower

Conservative Group Deputy Leader - Councillor Peter Wharf

Liberal Democrat Group Leader - Councillor Nick Ireland

Liberal Democrat Group Deputy Leader - Councillor Andy Canning

Green Party Group Leader - Councillor Claire Sutton

Green Party Group Deputy Leader - Councillor Brian Heatley

Alliance for Local Living Group Leader - Councillor Les Fry

Alliance for Local Living Group Deputy Leader - Councillor Rob Hughes